Becoming a sports medicine specialist requires a degree from medical school, postgraduate training and the following:

Board certification in one of the following concentrations:
– Internal Medicine
– Family Medicine
– Emergency Medicine
– Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
– Pediatrics

– Up to two years of additional study and training through an accredited sports medicine fellowship program

– Passing a rigorous national exam to become CAQ (Certificate of Added Qualification) certified in sports medicine

– Continuing medical education activities and recertification every 10 years

– Understanding nutritional needs for growth, healing and better performance



Jefferey B. Roberts, MD, CAQ
For contact and practice information,
visit Dr. Robert’s Provider Page.








Rishi Bala, MD, CAQSM, RMSK
For contact and practice information,
visit Dr. Bala’s Provider Page.